Check Out -Odd Jobs Interview in Nigeria

tailorMeet Mikailu. He’s the answer to any unexpected wardrobe malfunctions you may encounter while strolling around Lagos. Skillfully balancing a worn-out Singer sewing machine on his left shoulder, he treks for miles, clicking his metal scissors loudly to let potential customers know he’s nearby. He’s known as a roaming garment fixer, or according to the Yoruba tribe, “Ejika ni shop,” which means “My Shoulder is My Shop.”

World Hum: How old are you?

Mikailu: I am 30.

How long have you been doing this?

For seven years now.

What exactly do you do?

I fix any tears. From trousers to dresses. I fix zippers and buttons too. I charge 20 Naira for repairing the tear and if I have to sew new zippers or buttons, I charge 100 Naira [less than $1].

So how much do you make in one day?

On a good day, I can make anywhere between 1,500 Naira to 2,000 Naira [roughly $10 per day].

And how far do you walk in a day?

I start from Jakande, walk all the way to Ajah and back [roughly 20 kilometers one way along Lagos’ Lekki Expressway].

Do you work for someone?

Ha. No! I work for myself. I bought my machine five years ago for 5,000 Naira. Now, it costs 7,000 Naira and I am happy I bought it then.

Are you married?

Yes. And I have five children too.

Subscribe for alerts& follow the BIGGEST Business Blog in Nigeria & fastest growing Entrepreneurial/Political blog in Africa daily
Follow me on Twitter- @udeozochibuzo
Email me- udeozochibuzo@yahoo.com
Become My friend on Facebook- udeozochibuzo, Connect with me on- LinkedIn-udeozochibuzo
Watch me on– Youtube-udeozochibuzo Skype with me- udeozochibuzo
Check out my Blog daily- http://www.udeozochibuzo.wordpress.com
You can Follow UC-Blog via Email- Simply enter your email address to follow section of UC-Blog and receive notifications of new posts by email instantly.
BE SOCIAL SHARE THIS POST WITH FAMILY & FRIENDS BY CLICKING ANY OF THE SOCIAL MEDIA ICON BELOW!

About udeozochibuzo

ENTREPRENEURSHIP, INFORMATION, NEWS-POLITIC, BUSINESS
This entry was posted in Business and Investments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment or a Reply

